Tuesday, January 5



Issue n° 15 - 1970


Number of countries : 19
Debuting countries : none
Returning countries : none
Withdrawing countries : Austria, Denmark, Finland, Great Britain, Norway, Sweden, Vatican
Common design : sun composed of 24 interwoven wires one for each CEPT member.
Countries using their own design : Greece (one stamp (out of 3) depicts an owl, Antique symbol of wisdom).
Designer : Louis Le Brocquy (Ireland)

Note : Since that year, each country is allowed to issue one stamp within the set with their own design, only Greece used that new rule. Most stamps issued on the 4th of May, close to Europe Day (9th of May).

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...