Wednesday, September 9



Issue n° 4 - 1959

"Chain, symbol of the union"

Number of countries : 8
Debuting countries : Austria
Returning countries : Switzerland
Withdrawing countries : Saarland - Turkey
Common design : a chain made of 6 rings symbolizing the six Europa stamps founding members
Countries using their own design : Austria (E shape building) - Switzerland (chain made of eight alternating round and square rings)
Designer : Walter Brudi (Germany)

Note : All stamps issued on 19th September except Austria and Switzerland - That same year, the CEPT was established and the Swiss set has been overprinted on that occasion - Austria is the first country to issue a single stamp set

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...